Section Contents


EN 1995  (Eurocode 5)

Eurocode 5 (EN 1995) forms one part of a series of 10 Eurocodes dealing with the structural design involving a variety of structural materials together with two documents covering the principals of structural design and the loads acting upon these structures.

EN 1995 is only concerned with the requirements for mechanical resistance, serviceability, durability and fire resistance of timber structures.  Other requirements e.g. concerning thermal or sound insulation, are not considered.  Eurocode 5 comes in two parts: EN 1995-1 General and EN 1995 -2 Bridges.  Only EN 1995-1 is covered in this resource.

Eurocode 5 applies to the design of buildings and civil engineering works in timber (solid timber, sawn, planed or in pole form, glued laminated timber, wood-based structural products e.g. LVL), wood-based panels jointed together with adhesives or mechanical fasteners.  (It replaces the national standards in the European Economic Community area which have now been withdrawn e.g. in the United Kingdom, BS 5268-2.)

All 10 Eurocodes

Structural Design Titles  and Specific Numbers
EN 1990:2002
EN 1991
EN 1992
EN 1993
EN 1994
EN 1995
EN 1996
EN 1997
EN 1998
EN 1999
Eurocode: Basis of Structural Design
Eurocode  1: Actions on structures
Eurocode  2: Design of concrete structures
Eurocode  3: Design of steel structures
Eurocode  4: Design of composite steel and concrete structures
Eurocode 5: Design of timber structures
Eurocode  6: Design of masonry structures
Eurocode  7: Geotechnical design
Eurocode  8: Design of structures earthquake resistance
Eurocode  9: Design of aluminium structures
  • The series includes an overall Eurocode (referred to as the ‘head’ code) which gives the basis of structural design and Eurocode 1 which provides information about ‘actions on structures’.  Both these Eurocodes are intended to be used for direct application with all the other Eurocodes.  All material independent clauses previously in  Eurocodes 2 to 9 are now in  the main Eurocode.
  • Individual Eurocodes have a corresponding National Annex for each Member State which provides Nationally Determined Parameters and various allowable choices, such as which Informative Annexes may be used in that Member State.  These Nationally Determined Parameters enable account to be taken of specific geographical, geological or climatic conditions as well specific levels of protection applicable in different Member States.  For each nationally determined parameter, the Eurocodes provide a recommended ‘default’ value which the Member State can use.  Alternatively, the Member State is free to choose a different specific value if they consider it necessary in order to ensure that buildings and civil engineering works are designed and executed in a way that does not endanger safety within that Member State.