Section Contents

Guide: How to Assess EPD Compliance with New Standard

For a product’s EPD to comply with EN 15804, it must be able to assess its performance against the environmental indicators for five stages in the life cycle of a building.  Each of these stages is further sub-divided into other life cycle modules, see chart below.

Main Life Cycle Stages

Individual Life Cycle Modules

1. Product Stage

A1 – Raw material supplyA2 – Transport

A3 – Manufacturing

2. Construction Stage A4 – TransportA5 – Construction – Installation process
3. Use Stage

B1 – UseB2 – Maintenance

B3 – Repair

B4 – Replacement

B5 – Refurbishment

B6 – Operational energy use

B7 – Operational water use

4. End of Life Stage

C1 – De-construction demolitionC2 – Transport

C3 – Waste processing

C4 – Disposal

5. Benefits and Loads Beyond the System Boundary D – Reuse/Recovery and Recycling potential

The Product Stage (1) is mandatory in all EPD as the impact of making a product does not vary depending on where it is used.  The other stages (2 – 5), have life cycle modules which are voluntary, depending on the scenario for their installation, use and disposal.  These will depend on the particular situation within a building at a given location.  Therefore, they may not be relevant for the way the product is used in other buildings or locations.